What this is all about…

I have loved libraries for as long as I can remember. I love getting lost in them, the way they feel and most of all I love the books they contain. However, it was not a natural assumption to me that I would one day make my career in them. I overlooked them and even joked with people who wanted to know what I was going to do with that BA degree in English Literature that one day I would become a librarian. But as I was slow to learn whenever I’ve ever needed anything a library always came through for me. When I was 10 this was the latest Goosebump books, when I was 16 this was a quiet place to spend lunchtimes, when I was 21 it was the place with which I learned how to research and when I was 24 it was where I got my first real proper job.

At first I thought this was going to be a temporary thing but the more I have worked in this field, the more passionate I have became about it. This is more than a crush now but full on love so I decided a few years ago I would make a career out of it. However, all loves have short comings and now after working in a number of libraries I have come to realise the problems I have faced aren’t just isolated to one place but are systemic of the whole industry.

In the past I have been able to whisper between the stacks about this but really what I wanted was a forum for people like me to openly discuss the weird and wonderful world of libraries in New Zealand. So this blog was born.

However, I don’t just want this blog to be bitching about all the problems inherent in the industry (but there will be that). I want this to be a place where people working in New Zealand libraries can come and share stories about the profession. This is of course the trials and tribulations but also the joys and rewards. I want to know why people when into the field, what they expected versus the reality, what their perfect library would look like and where would you like the industry to go.

Please like this post, share it and subscribe to this blog. If you have anything you would like to contribute about your New Zealand library experience please email theissuesdesk@yahoo.co.nz I want this to be a safe space to share and be open so in the email please state whether you would like to be anonymous or not.

Leave a Reply

